Literacy- Oracy Project

Please find below some materials to help establish “Oracy” in the classroom.

Speaking and Listening Strategies

Speaking and Listening Activities

Oracy and Thinking Skills

 

Having discussed and explored Oracy, what is your next step? Which activities would you be able to trial?

About St John's ICT

ICT Subject Learning Co-ordinator, responsible for whole school ICT, inteerested in Web 2.0 tools, using iPads and mobile devices, BYOD and connecting students and schools through ICT to enhance Teaching and Learning.

21 responses to “Literacy- Oracy Project”

  1. misschambersict says :

    I’m going to use the ‘Odd One Out’ activity for exam revision.

  2. Natalie Kirkwood says :

    Lots of great ideas, all of which lend themselves very well to English and Drama. Will definitely start to use them more explicitly in lessons though. I particularly like the ‘odd one out’ task and think it would lend itself very well with GCSE and A Level when looking at exemplar exam answers and grading/ assigning to a mark band.

  3. year9careers says :

    Rally Robbins are continuously used in PE in either starter or plenary activities. We find it essential that students share practice and verbally show understanding of topics taught.

    Presentations occur frequently in BTEC level 2 and 3 and students have the opportunity to analyse presentations in order for the group to feel more comfortable in the environment.

    Key words are essential in feedback to student. In A Level sessions students are given key words to discuss with their partners to show a deeper understanding of topics which may lead to debates.

  4. andria says :

    I want those mats for my classroom and I want the choosing thing gavin has – thats great so kids can’t ‘hide’ in the background – I already use odd one out in lessons quite a lot as a starter, but combining it with the choosing app – would make it more effective.

  5. Phill Robertson says :

    Next step – pairs activity with KS3 (grid) in Spanish. As a starter/bell work based soley in the target language.

  6. Kim Wearmouth says :

    My next step is to use the Odd One Out Activity with KS4 Music classes and to really concentrate upon the differentiation of questions, especailly to push the more able.
    Will use as a starter and perhaps as a penary to consolidate knowledge.

  7. Lindsey Hillyard says :

    I am going to focus more on oracy as starters to encourage the students to discuss some of the topics we are covering in DT. I will try the Odd One Out activity with KS3 to recap processes, tools and materials that students are using in their projects.

  8. Tara Saville says :

    I am going to develop starters and plenaries for our new science GCSE courses, enhancing thinking skills. E.g. Odd one out

  9. elaine spedding says :

    I am going to use the questions as a starter activity to introduce controversial topics such as abortion or euthanasia and allow students to rally robin the debate. I will trial the odd one out with Year 12 looking at different types of Ethical theories such as Deontological and Telological.

  10. Varsha Nighoskar says :

    I would use oracy more in my lessons especially the rally robin for evaluation purposes. I would like to try the activity”odd one out” using different evaluation words or different theories and encourage the students to work out which theory is different and why.

  11. stuart ebberley says :

    Odd one out can be made as simple or challenging as you like so differentiation element can be built in. Good place to use a starter activity to recap on previous lesson and also develop oracy as well.

  12. Louise Barningham says :

    I would/have used baloon debate whereby different people are put into this and then you have to vote on who you would throw out. I would use this in Speaking and Listening assessments for discussion and would given quite contentious figures from history like, Stalin, George Bush etc… This would tie in with one of the three assessments needed for GCSE English.

  13. Paul Rolston says :

    Use discussion to generate the geometric properties of shapes and the systematic approach to solving equations. Will trial ‘odd one out’ activity whilst using cooperative learning structures.

  14. Paula Watson says :

    I am going to rethink some of the strategies I currently use to teach analysis – could use round robin to discuss commercial design instead of getting students to write it down. I may also try the odd one out supported by random selection to encourage students to discuss key subject specific words

  15. RBateson says :

    I can use rally robin when asking Level 1 GCSE questions such as ‘Identify one feature of a sole trader’ Students can rally features between themselves. I could also use the ‘odd one out’ when comparing business contexts based on types of business. Would be useful especially for starters and plenaries.

  16. Beth Carr says :

    I regulary carry out these activities as part of drama lessons and in many English lessons but I am going to try and incorporate centre of the universe and actioning into some of my lessons this week. I will particularly be using this with year 9 as we continue looking at Of Mice and Men.

  17. Anna Oulton says :

    I intend to use the ‘Rise from the Dead’ activity, which seems very similar to the game ‘Taboo’ in order to revise and recap learning from the Introduction to Shakespeare Unit with Year 7. I’ll use key words relating to plot/character/context and will nominate students to describe these to the others.

  18. Amy Dalton says :

    I plan to use more odd one out activities as starters. I hope that this will develop class and pair discussions (rally robin). I hope that reasoning skills will be devloped as students will be expected to explain their choice. I will start with general odd one out questions followed by more science and topic specific examples.

  19. mrslittlescience says :

    My next step will be to use the different question structures activity to plan starter and plenary activities for Y9 IGCSE Physics.

  20. Emmy says :

    I think diplomats would be particularly useful in History. I often give students the task of researching a topic before we start it so that they can get background knowledge and have a better idea before going into depth. I think diplomats would be particularly useful for a Year 10 group studying the League of Nations. Not only would it lead to collaborative learning within the group but it would also help them understand the structures of the League of Nations. It could be adapted to incorporate the structure of the League itself, with each student representing a part of the League.

  21. St. John's History Club says :

    I really like Diplomats from the oracy resources. I think it would be particularly useful for Y10 History when they are learning about the League of Nations. I would be able to rename the components so that they matched up with the structure of the League of Nations. I already get students to do research activities before starting a topic and this would be a much better way to do it, ensuring all students take part.

Leave a Reply

